The Australasian Association for Philosophy is the peak charity for the promotion of philosophical research, education and scholarship  in Australia, New Zealand and Singapore. The AAP’s membership consists of  academic philosophers, including students, as well as community members with an interest in philosophy. The AAP was founded in 1922 and seeks to promote philosophy in universities, schools, and among the general public in Australasia.

The objects of the Association are to:

- promote philosophy through education, research and scholarship

- promote the exchange of philosophical ideas

- support members, and professional philosophers generally, in connection with their philosophical activities.

- AAP Constitution clause 6

President is elected annually at the Annual General Meeting.

Patron is the Honourable Justice Pamela Tate. 

The AAP is governed by a Board of Directors

The two committees of the Board are Finance and Executive committees. 

The Executive is responsible for managing the operational affairs, assisted by a number of Operating Committees.  

The AAP is assisted in its work by the Secretariat

Board positions, Executive, and convenors of Operating Committees are elected at the Annual General Meeting held concurrently with the annual AAP conference

The AAP's governing documents include a Constitution, By laws, Charters for the Board and Committees, and Terms of Reference for the Operating committees. 

AAP is a member organisation of 
FISP (Federation Internationale des Societes de Philosophie)The AAP is a Public Company Limited by Guarantee and a registered charity with the Australian Charities and Not for Profits Commission (ACNC). Further information can be found on the AAP's entry on the  Australian Business Register.

©Australasian Association of Philosophy
ACN 152 892 272 ABN 29 152 892 272
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software